Global searching is not enabled.
Skip to main content

Types of Outcomes that Will be Required to Assess

Completion requirements
Specific Outcomes

Each learning area consists of a set of specific outcomes which help:

  • Facilitators to teach the right content, and
  • Learners to ensure that they display the right level of competence during assessment by a trained assessor in order to meet a national standard.

Critical Cross-field Outcomes

The South African system of OBE is based on critical outcomes. These outcomes are based on the South African Constitution and have been approved by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

There are seven critical outcomes which state that learners always will:

  • Identify and solve problems and make decisions using critical and creative thinking.
  • Work effectively with others as members of a team, group, organisation and community.
  • Organise and manage themselves and their activities responsibly and effectively.
  • Collect, analyse, organise and critically evaluate information.
  • Communicate effectively using visual, symbolic and/or language skills in various modes.
  • Use science and technology effectively and critically showing responsibility towards the environment and the health of others.
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the world as a set of related systems by recognising that problem-solving contexts do not exist in isolation.

Developmental Outcomes

These critical outcomes are supported by five developmental outcomes, which OBE uses to contribute towards the personal development of each learner and towards social and economic development in South Africa.

They are:

  • Reflect on and explore a variety of strategies to learn more effectively.
  • Participate as responsible citizens in the life of local, national and global communities.
  • Be culturally and aesthetically sensitive across a range of social contexts.
  • Explore education and career opportunities.
  • Develop entrepreneurial opportunities.